Yale Center for Teaching and Learning

Advanced Teaching Workshops

“Advanced Teaching Workshops” are held throughout the year to help postdoctoral and teaching fellows gain the skills they need to make the transition to faculty positions. Participants in these workshops learn advanced skills in such areas as:

  • Leading discussions
  • Designing assignments
  • Instructional technology
  • Lesson planning
  • Lecturing
  • Giving feedback and grading
  • Design courses at a variety of levels
  • Diversity in the classroom
  • The role of the TF beyond academics
  • Writing letters of recommendation

Some workshops are offered as single programs and some as a series.

The Advanced Teaching Workshops also count toward the advanced pedagogy workshop requirement of the Certificate of College Teaching Preparation (CCTP) program for graduate students. Please note that two-part ATWs count as two sessions toward the CCTP Requirement. 

 

Eligibilty

 

Open to anyone.

Learn More

Please see the current schedule for times, dates, locations, and registration information of upcoming workshops.

Events in this Series

Title Time Location
ATW: Assessing Participation Equitably Tuesday, January 21, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120C
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Class Observation Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Universal Design for Learning Monday, January 27, 2020 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Rubrics and Grading Tuesday, January 28, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120C
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Class Observation Tuesday, February 4, 2020 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Teaching First-Generation and Non-Traditional Studies Monday, February 10, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Writing Across the Disciplines Tuesday, February 18, 2020 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Leading Effective Discussions Tuesday, February 25, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Quantitative Reasoning Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
Preparing and Delivering an Effective Lecture Thursday, February 27, 2020 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Teaching International Students Tuesday, March 3, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Teaching as an International Instructor Wednesday, March 4, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Difficult Conversations in the Classroom (Gender) Thursday, March 5, 2020 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Promoting Peer Learning through Technology Monday, March 23, 2020 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: How We Learn Tuesday, March 24, 2020 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Mentoring in the Lab Thursday, March 26, 2020 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Creating a Teaching Persona Monday, March 30, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Mentoring in the Lab Tuesday, March 31, 2020 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: How We Learn Tuesday, March 31, 2020 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Difficult Conversations in the Classroom (Race, Ethnicity, and Culture) Wednesday, April 1, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Mentoring in the Lab Thursday, April 2, 2020 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Mentoring Undergraduates Monday, April 6, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT
ATW: Difficult Conversations in the Classroom (Religion and Culture) Tuesday, April 14, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
CTL 120A
301 York Street
New Haven , CT

Past Events in this Series

Title Event Topic Time
ATW: Difficult Conversations in the Classroom (Politics) ATW: Difficult Conversations in the Classroom (Politics) Monday, December 9, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
ATW: Difficult Conversations in the Classroom (Gender) ATW: Difficult Conversations in the Classroom (Gender) Thursday, November 7, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
ATW: Inclusive Assessment ATW: Inclusive Assessment Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm
ATW: Preparing and Delivering an Effective Lecture ATW: Preparing and Delivering an Effective Lecture Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
ATW: Enriching the Classroom through Multimedia ATW: Enriching the Classroom through Multimedia Monday, November 4, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm
ATW: Using Technology to Get Feedback on Teaching ATW: Using Technology to Get Feedback on Teaching Thursday, October 24, 2019 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm
ATW: Teaching and Mentorship in the Lab Environment ATW: Teaching and Mentorship in the Lab Environment Tuesday, October 22, 2019 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
ATW: Teaching First Generation and Nontraditional Students ATW: Teaching First Generation and Nontraditional Students Monday, October 7, 2019 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
ATW: Classroom Observation Workshop ATW: Classroom Observation Workshop Tuesday, October 1, 2019 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
ATW: Classroom Observation Workshop ATW: Classroom Observation Workshop Thursday, September 19, 2019 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm