Yale Center for Teaching and Learning

Poorvu Center Advisory Board

The Poorvu Center for Teaching and Learning’s Advisory Board, comprised of appointed faculty members from across campus and a graduate student representative, works with the Center’s leadership to guide the mission and work of the Center. The board plays a critical role in selecting grant recipients, building new programs, and answering important questions about existing initiatives. Together, they embody the mission of the Center. 

Pericles Lewis, Vice President for Global Strategy, Vice Provost for Academic Initiatives, and Douglas Tracy Smith Professor of Comparative Literature, serves as Chair of the Advisory Board. Jennifer Frederick, Executive Director of the Poorvu Center for Teaching and Learning, and Lucas Swineford, Executive Director of Digital Education at the Poorvu Center for Teaching and Learning, also serve on the board.

Poorvu Center Advisory Board Members
Last Name First Name Title
Ahn Woo-Kyoung Professor of Psychology
Brantley Jessica Professor of English
Fernandez-Duque Eduardo Professor of Anthropology
Gladney Larry Phyllis Wallace Dean of Diversity and Faculty Development in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Professor of Physics
Hazari Nilay Professor of Chemistry
Hsiang Joyce Assistant Professor of Architecture
Jain Anjani Deputy Dean for Academic Programs and Professor in the Practice of Management
Monahan Seth Associate Professor Adjunct School of Music
Pettigrew Melinda Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Anna M. R. Lauder Professor of Epidemiology (Microbial Diseases)
Polak Benjamin William C. Brainard Professor of Economics
Schwartz Michael Associate Professor of Neuroscience; Associate Dean for Curriculum at the School of Medicine
Slanski Kathryn Senior Lecturer in Humanities and in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Smith Brett Lecturer of Mathematics
Womack Julie Associate Professor of Nursing
Zimmerman Julie Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, School of the Environment; Professor in School of Engineering and Applied Science; Professor in School of the Environment